You are here: Explore Study Abroad


 Australian Education System

Australia is divided into 6 states and 2 territories. The education system is governed by each state individually. But the main stages of education are the same: school education is compulsory between the ages of 6 and 16 (Year 1 to 10) and it comprises 13 years in total. School starts with a preparatory year before Year 1, which is not compulsory. Primary schooling starts with Year 1 and either ends after Year 6 or 7, depending on the local area or state.

High School
After having finished primary school, the students enter secondary school Starting Year 7 (or alternatively with Year 8) and leaves secondary school after Year 12. There are 2 post-school educational offered afterwards, the higher education or the vocational education and training (VET).

Tertiary education system
In 2007, the Australian higher education system counted 39 universities, 1 overseas university, 4 self-accrediting higher education institutions and other non-self-accrediting higher education providers. The amount of students ranges from 3,000 up to 50,000, of which 20 percent of them are International. The academic year starts from February and terminates in December. It is divided into 4 terms per year in most states and territories. Most universities have 2 semesters and are commonly located in cities.




स्कूली बच्चों को कोरोना महामारी में कैसे पढ़ाना चाहिए?

  • ऑनलाइन
  • ऑफलाइन
  • कह नहीं सकते